About the Post

Author Information

I am a Denver-based writer, travel lover, and author of The Drive North and Destination Paranormal. I have several other books in the works, including fiction.

Destination: Germany

Europe Berlin Germany

The Reichstag visible from the Memorial to the Murdered Jews of Europe

A couple of months ago, as I looked ahead to my 2016 travels, I mentioned I was awaiting a decision from my nephew on where he wants to travel as a gift for his 18th birthday and graduation next year. As the headline says, Trent chose Germany.

When he called me up, before he even told me the country, I asked him why he chose this particular destination. Trent said he was interested in its history. That was it. The history. He didn’t give me another clue.

Well, actually, that’s not entirely true. He did give me the hint that it’s someplace I’ve already been.

Two different countries – France and England – immediately popped into my head. And I really thought it’d be England, even days before he called me, since I have a friend there who he’s met before.

Germany Berlin Wall Memorial Preserved Sections

Remnants of the Berlin Wall

But, nope, I was way wrong. Germany it is. And I couldn’t be happier, especially with the chance to go back and get me some schnitzel.

So, what’s he want to see in Germany?

He listed three things:

  1. The Berlin Wall
  2. A castle
  3. A concentration camp
Walking Through History on Berlin's Grand Circle

Buchenwald Concentration Camp

I suggested he give it a lot more thought if he wants to visit a camp, since it’s not an easy thing to do. It’s incredibly important, without a doubt, but it’s hard. As in hard in that it changes everything about the trip, including your perception of things you’ve already seen. I know. I did it a number of years ago, when I toured Buchenwald on my first trip to Germany.

If he decides he wants to go, I will take him. No doubt about it. Because, as I said, it is incredibly important to see these places and understand what happened.

While he makes up his mind about the camp, it’s time for me to start researching and planning other aspects of the trip. It’s a long way off, yes, but it’ll be here before I know it. And while I’ve already found a number of good things, and have a number of ideas thanks to my previous visits, especially around Berlin, I’ve got some digging to do.

I’m open and hopeful for any suggestions, so, if you’ve got ’em, please send them my way!

Tags: , , , ,

2 Comments on “Destination: Germany”

  1. Traveling Ted (@travelingted) March 19, 2016 at 12:33 pm #

    Your nephew sounds a lot like me. He is interested in German history and a glutton for punishment. I have visited Dachau, Auschwitz, Maidanek as well as other depressing history sights like Hiroshima and the Killing Fields in Cambodia. Each time I leave I wonder why I put myself through it; however, I think it is important to keep the memory of these awful places alive. Good for him for wanting to visit.

    • Jason's Writing March 20, 2016 at 5:38 pm #

      Definitely important stuff. I just want him to be sure to give it plenty of thought beforehand, and make the right choice for himself at that time.

Leave a Reply

