About the Post

Author Information

I am a Denver-based writer, travel lover, and author of The Drive North and Destination Paranormal. I have several other books in the works, including fiction.

A Look Ahead To 2016

Without sounding like a complete bust here, I’ve got a lot of repeat visits coming up in 2016. There’s a reason for that, though, which I’ll get to in a moment. First, what’s on tap for the new year…

Paris and Planet Hollywood Las Vegas Strip Nevada

The Las Vegas Strip

To start, I’m heading back to Las Vegas for an early 40th birthday celebration. Black Sabbath stops there on their final-ever tour, at least for now, The End. My buddy and I, in all the times we’ve been to Sin City – which is approaching twenty visits now – have never seen a concert. It’s something we’ve always wanted to do, and now it’s finally happening. And I couldn’t be happier, since I’m a big Ozzy fan. Add to it an AC/DC show here in Denver the weekend before, and it’s shaping up to be one heckuva a week.

Speaking of great heavy metal bands, Iron Maiden plays Denver this spring. As an exchange for going with me, I promised my girlfriend a trip to southwestern Colorado to see Mesa Verde. I’ve been before, but she hasn’t and has always wanted to go. So we’re packing up the puppies, and heading out for a few days to see what’s quite possibly the most beautiful part of the state. I’ll see a few new spots on this trip – like Telluride and Ouray – which I’ve always wanted to visit, but probably am most excited for a trip back to the national park.

Mesa Verde National Park

Mesa Verde National Park

Following that trip, I’m down for a summer of camping and children’s book writing conferences. I’m excited for repeat trips to the annual SCBWI conference in LA and the local RMC chapter conference here in the Denver area. Sprinkled around those two long weekends will surely be a whole lot of camping, a love my girlfriend has helped me discover. Which spots we’ll hit for those weekends is totally up in the air, seeing as we’re only now in January, and something that likely won’t be decided until the week before.

Other than maybe a quick trip or two back to Minnesota or Buffalo, her hometown, nothing else is on the docket. Why’s that? Why no big international adventure as in years past? Because I need to save some big bucks for the upcoming years.

The iconic Split Rock Lighthouse along Lake Superior's North Shore in Minnesota

The iconic Split Rock Lighthouse along Lake Superior’s North Shore in Minnesota

Now, there are lots of reasons for my needing to save, which I won’t all get into here and now, but one of them is a Christmas gift I gave my nephew this year, and will be giving the other nephews and niece in subsequent years. That present is the gift of travel. That’s right. Travel. A trip for a week to anywhere they want to go in the world.

Years and years ago, back when I was in Antarctica, I ran into a guy who was doing this with his nieces and nephews. At the time I never imagined I’d have kids of my own, so promised the gift to my family’s kids. I don’t regret that for one second, and am very fortunate to have a girlfriend who wants to help me see that promise through. And now with the first one on the horizon, it’s time to do as much saving as possible to make it all happen.

Where’s Trent, the first of the kids, want to go for his 18th birthday? Your guess is as good as mine. He’s got it narrowed down to about 10 countries split between South America and Europe, but which one he’ll pick is an absolute mystery. He has only a few more weeks to decide, though, as I told him I need an answer by his 17th, so I can begin my planning and scheming.

Here’s to a great year for all!

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,

2 Comments on “A Look Ahead To 2016”

  1. Traveling Ted (@travelingted) January 23, 2016 at 8:29 am #

    Looks like the makings of a great year. Local camping is something I plan to do a bunch this year as well in Wisconsin, Minnesota, and Michigan, and perhaps a few stops in my home state of Illinois. Great that you are giving your nephews and nieces a present they will always cherish.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Destination: Germany | Jason's Travels - March 16, 2016

    […] couple of months ago, as I looked ahead to my 2016 travels, I mentioned I was awaiting a decision from my nephew on where he wants to travel as a gift for his […]

Leave a Reply

