About the Post

Author Information

I am a Denver-based writer, travel lover, and author of The Drive North and Destination Paranormal. I have several other books in the works, including fiction.

A Look Ahead to 2015

San Diego's Balboa Park

San Diego’s Balboa Park

What’s in store for 2015? I’m excited to find out, with so many opportunities laid before me. A few things are planned and, excitingly enough, even more is not. And that means a whole lot of possibilities for the coming year, especially when it comes to travel. Here’s how it’s shaping up…

Two return trips to California are all but set in stone, with a third and fourth possible. Well, to tell the truth, one actually already happened since I traveled west to see the family for a late Christmas and to ring in the new year. As always, my time there was outstanding, witnessing my sister’s wedding, celebrating the holidays with the family, and watching my nephew in a volleyball tournament. Unfortunately I also came down with a lovely case of bronchitis, so am still off from work and out sick as I recover.

The architecture in Balboa Park is outstanding

The architecture in Balboa Park is outstanding

My second trip to California could be back to San Diego to spend more time with the family, with a third to Los Angeles. Last year I attended my first Society of Children’s Book Writers and Illustrators (SCBWI) annual conference, and am hoping to head back for another round this summer. Other than simply being a fun opportunity to mingle with people of like minds, it’s a great chance to further my professional writing career – something

Hiking amongst the redwoods in California's John Muir National Monument

Hiking amongst the redwoods in California’s John Muir National Monument

which has caused me to put blogging on the back burner, only doing it when I have free time enough to give it some good attention. (Sorry dedicated readers, but quality before quantity!)

The fourth and final trip to California may be combined with one of the others, so, who knows, maybe it will actually only be three. But, if it happens, I’ll be heading farther north to see the Red Woods. My girlfriend Maria and I are discussing a trip to the area, one which I’ve barely set foot in on past adventures – visiting John Muir National Monument near San Francisco – and would love to get back to see more of the trees. They’re something special, and worth a return journey.

Beyond those four trips, nothing else is planned for my 2015. What’s been discussed? Oh boy. That’s a list that could probably keep you reading well past your bedtime. But, not to leave you hanging, here are a few of the ideas in play: a possible blogger trip to NASA in Houston; Washington, D.C.; New York City; New Orleans; Savannah, Georgia; exploring more of my home state of Colorado; and heading back to both Buffalo, New York and Minnesota, the childhood homes for both my girlfriend and myself. Beyond that – which already is a lot – everything seems like quite the pipe dream at this time. But, who knows, we may just figure something out. I’m excited to find out.

So often it seems like I have my year planned for travel before it even began. This year is different, with so many unknown possibilities, that I’m all the more excited to see how it unfolds. For now, I only have a few things with a whole bunch of ideas – which I think is the right way to go. As time allows, my friends, I’ll be sure to post about the adventures, hopefully inspiring you in the process to get out and explore.

Happy New Year, everyone!

Tags: , , , , ,

3 Comments on “A Look Ahead to 2015”

  1. paisstat January 6, 2015 at 4:42 am #

    Happy travels! May 2015 adventures be full and adventurous!

  2. Traveling Ted (@travelingted) January 8, 2015 at 7:42 pm #

    Happy New Year and hope the travel plans pan out. I will be in Colorado on a blogger trip in Colorado at the end of the month and beginning of February. Perhaps if our schedules permit, we can have a beer or two.

    • Jason's Travels January 8, 2015 at 7:44 pm #

      Most definitely! Keep me posted. It’d be great to meet up, if even briefly. I live by the airport and work downtown, so hopefully we can manage something.

Leave a Reply

